Text Size

Current Size: 100%

Databases

Section Index: 
Content Body: 

A valid NBPL library card is all you need to access most of our online resources from home or any other location. You can apply for a library card online using the library catalog.

Check out our new online courseware: Universal Class offers in-depth teaching and training on a wide variety of topics, from writing a business plan to planning a wedding. Learn more.

Databases marked with an asterisk (*) can only be used at the library.

Or, select your database from this list:

Business

  • ABI/Inform
    Business oriented resources for large, small and privately owned companies.
  • Cypress Resume
    In just a few short steps, you'll have a well-written, professional-looking resume
  • Gale Directory Library
    Search directories of associations and broadcast media companies
  • Hoover’s Company Records
    Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
  • LiveTutor Career Center
    Online skills builder with live tutoring for resume and cover letter writing.
  • Morningstar
    A resource for insightful information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds and more.
  • Rand California*
    RAND California contains statistical information on a national, state, county and city level from more than 170 databases in the fields of Business, Education, Health and more.
  • Realquest*
    RealQuest is the largest online property information database, giving real estate professionals access to accurate, exportable data on 97% of all property transactions in Orange County. This database can only be accessed at NBPL locations
  • Reference USA
    Provides directory information for U.S. businesses and residents.
  • Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage
    Provides independent credit ratings, indices, risk evaluation, investment research and data.
  • ValueLine
    Online version of The Value Line Investment Survey.

Downloadable Library

  • Axis 360
    Axis 360 provides text ebook versions of bestsellers, classic literature and other fiction and non-fiction titles.
  • Overdrive
    Overdrive provides text eBooks and audio versions of bestsellers, classic literature and other fiction and non-fiction titles in WMA and MP3 format.
  • Zinio Digital Magazines
    Free digital magazine subscribtions available on desktop computers, laptops and mobile devices.

Genealogy

  • Ancestry Library Edition*
    Genealogy research database which includes billions of names. Provided by the generous support of the Friends of the Library. This database can only be used at the library.
  • Heritage Quest Online
    Genealogy research with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Provided by the generous support of the Friends of the Library.

 

Health

Lifelong Learning

  • Career Tools
    Pursue a new career and gain advice on resumes, cover letters, interviews, and networking.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Search full-text ebooks on a wide variety of topics, including arts, business, history, science, social science and more.
  • LiveTutor Career Center
    A collection of online career tools provided by Tutor.com.
  • Rocket Languages
    Provides interactive lessons on a variety of foreign languages.
  • Testing & Education Reference Center
    Provides users with in-depth information on colleges and universities, graduate and professional programs, distance learning and more.
  • Universal Class
    Online courses available on a wide variety of topics, from computer basics and business plans to dog training and wedding planning

Literature

  • Literature Resource Center
    A literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user.
  • Novelist
    A fiction database that provides author, title, and subject access, series information and more.
  • Novelist K-8
    Specializes in book information geared towards children and young adults.

Magazines & Newspapers

Student Resources

  • Ancient History & Culture
    Offers online resources and videos of the histories for eight major civilizations.
  • Biography Resource Center
    Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
  • CultureGrams
    Provides concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Search full-text ebooks on a wide variety of topics, including arts, business, history, science, social science and more.
  • Kids InfoBits
    A database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.
  • Literature Resource Center
    A literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user.
  • Live Homework Help
    An online homework help and tutoring service.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Collects " for" and "against" articles based on social issues.
  • Testing & Education Reference Center
    Provides users with in-depth information on colleges and universities, graduate and professional programs, distance learning and more.
  • Tuition Funding Resources
    Offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and career information. When you register, choose "school from California" in the list of schools.
  • Tumblebooks
    An online collection of animated, talking picture books.
  • World Book Encyclopedia
    Access to the online version of the World Book Encyclopedia.
  • World Book Kids
    Offers simpler navigation, thousands of colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps, and dozens of activities tied to national curriculum standards.

 

Ancestry Library Edition, Rocket Languages and HeritageQuest Online are provided by the generous support of the Friends of the Library.

Credit

Website by YourLibrarySite

Disclaimer

1000 Avocado Ave. Newport Beach, CA 92660 • (949) 717-3800